22271VIC Certificate IV in Bereavement Support 
Delivery: Online                      Duration: 12 Months Self Paced

The Certificate IV in Bereavement Support is a Nationally Recognised, VET qualification. This online course is designed for those who have a role in providing bereavement and loss support. The skills and knowledge provided by the course may be for a specific bereavement support job role or complement other job roles, such as those of nurses, aged care workers, funeral directors etc...

While bereavement care and support work is the main focus of the course, a holistic approach to industry activities is offered, with the content also incorporating communication, capacity building and quality management and explores specific workplace duties as found in the real workplace environment.

The course consists of 11 compulsory units. Four units, focusing on bereavement care and support, have been written by the Australian Centre for Grief and Bereavement, using their significant expertise and in consultation with industry representatives. 

The remaining units were already in existence within various training packages and qualifications but have been imported into the Certificate IV in Bereavement Support and contextualised for the loss and bereavement industry. (Please refer to the Prospectus for more information on the course units)

On completion of the course, graduates of the Certificate IV in Bereavement Support will be able to:

  • communicate effectively to provide support for those experiencing bereavement and loss

  • identify various types of bereavement and losses that might be experienced by a client

  • contribute to quality management processes in an organisation

  • recognise the impact of loss in the context of a client’s experience

  • describe the theoretical frameworks that inform the field of loss, grief and bereavement

  • provide basic counselling

  • contribute to the building of capacity for provision of bereavement and loss support.

Course Structure

Through the Learning Management System Learnbook, students will have access to individual Study Guides for each of the eleven units. Each Study Guide contains unit learning material along with activities to increase your understanding of the key learning topics throughout your study. 

The 5 ACGB developed unit Study Guides are delivered in the form of PDF files which are printable. The remaining 6 unit Study Guides are delivered in the form of e-books. Although these e-books cannot be printed, they are easily downloadable on tablets for accessible reading. 

Once a student has read and understand the content of a unit, they are then required to complete and submit the Assessment Tasks for that unit. These Assessment Tasks come in the form of writable PDF documents. The Final Assessment for the course is a role play which students are required to create, video and upload for assessment. 

Student User Guides are sent to each student in a Welcome Email once their Enrolment documentation has been received and processed by ACGB Staff. This student user guide contains step by step instructions on each element of the course. Students will also have access to Student Support Staff  and a Mentor / Assessor who will be available for phone of email support throughout their learning journey.

Course Duration

The course content of the Certificate IV in Bereavement Support is offered completely online. Each intake is a 12 month period to complete the qualification. Students will not be penalised financially for completing the course in a shorter amount of time. 


The total cost of the Certificate IV in Bereavement Support over the 12 month period is $3,600.
Course Fees are made through a Payment Plan = 11 payments of $300 per month. The first payment is made at the time of enrolment through the website, the remaining payments are direct debited from the students nominated Credit Card or Bank Account on the first of each month.

A Student Agreement is attached to the Enrolment Form provided. This needs to be signed and submitted to ACGB acknowledging the debit of fees. Students will not be officially enrolled into the course until all paperwork is received and processed by ACGB Staff. 

Please read the Student Enrolment and Agreement attached for further terms and conditions regarding to the enrolment of the Certificate IV in Bereavement Support online course.

Want to know more?

For further information, please email the Courses Coordinator.
For the full details of course units, click on the link below to download a copy of the Course Prospectus. 

June 2017 Intake

Enrolments are now open for the June 2017 Intake. This intake commences on the 1st June 2017 with a completion date of  30th June 2018.


Step 1: Please download the Enrolment Form which contains the Student Agreement. Once the terms of the enrolment into the Certificate IV in Bereavement Support online course are read and understood,  please take the time to complete the enrolment form.

June 2017 Certificate IV Enrolment Form

Once completed, please email or send to: courses@grief.org.au 


Step 2: Click on the JUNE  link to Register and Pay for the first instalment of the course. 






The Certificate IV in Bereavement Support (22271VIC) is accredited under the Australian Quality Training Framework by the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA).